Expansion of international flight restrictions at Canadian airports

Friday, January 29, 2021

The Government of Canada is introducing strict new measures to prevent the further introduction of COVID-19 throughout Canada. The government and Canada’s airlines have reached an agreement to suspend all flights to and from Mexico and Caribbean countries until April 30, 2021. This will be in effect as of January 31, 2021.

To further strengthen measures already in place, and based on public health advice provided by the Public Health Agency of Canada, the Minister of Transport is also expanding the scope of the flight restrictions made under the Aeronautics Act. These included flight restrictions to funnel certain scheduled international commercial passenger flights to Canada’s four largest airports: Montreal-Trudeau International Airport, Toronto Pearson International Airport, Calgary International Airport, and Vancouver International Airport.

Effective midnight (11:59 PM EST) February 3, 2021, the restrictions will be expanded to include the following flights to Canada which will be required to land at the four Canadian airports noted above:

  • Scheduled commercial passenger flights from the United States, Mexico, Central America, the Caribbean, and South America;
  • International business / private passenger flights from all countries; and
  • International charter passenger flights from all countries.

Flights from Saint-Pierre-et Miquelon and cargo-only international flights will still be exempt from this new requirement.

These changes remain in effect until further notice.