Government Restricts Entry to Canada

Monday, March 16, 2020

Updates from the Government of Canada:

  • Canada will deny entry to non-citizens and non-permanent residents, aside from U.S. citizens, aircrews, diplomats, and some immediate family members, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced Monday.
  • The government will establish a support system for Canadians looking to return from abroad. Beginning Wednesday, international passenger flights (aside from U.S., Mexico, Caribbean) will go to Montreal, Toronto, Calgary, and Vancouver.
  • Additional economic measures will be announced as early as Tuesday, according to Trudeau.
  • "If you are abroad, it is time for you to come home," said Trudeau, adding that all Canadians should stay home if possible. Airlines will be required to deny boarding to passengers who exhibit COVID-19 symptoms.